16 Apr

Withdrawal Agreement How Did My Mp Vote

In December 2017, pressure intensified on the government to amend Term 9 to allow Parliament to approve the final terms of the UK-EU withdrawal agreement by 29 March 2019, the date set for the UK`s withdrawal from the EU. Conservative MP Dominic Grieve advised the government to amend the clause itself or it would table its own amendment to the bill. [17] Grieve introduced its amendment to the Bill (Amendment 7) in which it stipulates that a Brexit agreement must be implemented by legislative and not by government decision. [18] When the bill returned to the House of Commons on June 20, the government offered new concessions. The concessions meant that the government won by 319 votes to 303: a majority of 16. [61] [62] This list contains votes from the House of Commons, the House of Lords, Bill`s Public Committees and the Scottish Parliament. In BBC Newsnight, Grieve said May had to respect the “assurances” given to her that Parliament would have more say in any final Brexit deal. [47] [48] There was a disagreement between the Conservatives on what had been agreed, and Anna Soubry, MP, said: “The Prime Minister said yesterday that clause c of Dominic Grieve`s amendment would be discussed as part of the new amendment to be tabled in the Lords”[49] and Stephen Hammond. and we have said that very strongly today in government. The government has recognized this point, and I am waiting for a new amendment to cover this situation. [50] All proposed amendments to the application were rejected.

The proposal itself was then rejected with a 303-259 lead, in part because of the abstentions of the Conservative research group, which objected to the demand appearing to exclude an EU exit without a withdrawal agreement. [88] The important vote took place on January 15, 2019 in the House of Commons. [73] The vote was originally scheduled to take place on December 11, 2018, but on December 10, May postponed it because it became clear that the government`s Brexit deal would be rejected. [74] [75] Emma Reynolds (Labour – Wolverhampton North East) (Pat McFadden proxy vote) These MPs, described as “non-voters,” may not have done so for a number of reasons. They may have wanted to abstain or have constituency or departmental matters. The spokesman and his deputies cannot vote, and Sinn Fein members do not traditionally vote.

Share this